portalillinois.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.

ILLINOIS DUI FACT BOOK

Driving comes with a great deal of responsibility all throughout the United States. Given its importance in the state of Illinois, Secretary of State Jesse White and his office staff have compiled a comprehensive fact book about the dangers of driving under the influence within the state.

And when it comes to operating a motor vehicle in Illinois, there are few violations more serious. So if you want to learn about the importance of safe driving and obtain information about DUI laws and reinstatement procedures, be sure to check out the Illinois “DUI Fact Book” and examine the sections presented below.

Legal Blood Alcohol Limits

The most important law regarding the violation of driving while intoxicated is the BAC limit law. Depending on your age and profession, your BAC driving limit will vary, and the Secretary of State’s guide provides details on all of these limits, which are as follows:

  • Drivers younger than 21 years of age: 0.00 percent BAC limit
  • Drivers 21 or older: 0.08 percent BAC limit
  • Commercial drivers: 0.04 percent BAC limit

Suspended Drivers License Reinstatement

After learning about all of the important rules and regulations associated with DUIs in Illinois, the next subject that you must become familiar with is Illinois drivers license reinstatement. The steps that you will have to take to gain access to your license will vary based on the seriousness of the offense and the number of the DUI, but the penalties can include any and all of the following:

  • Jail time
  • Community service
  • Hefty fines
  • Alcohol education course
  • Ignition interlock device