portalillinois.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.

GETTING AN ILLINOIS LEARNERS PERMIT

Young drivers in Illinois must be prepared for the road and the challenges it brings. Learning about the many traffic rules and regulations, while being a good and cautious driver at the same time can sometimes be overwhelming for those who have never driven before.

Young drivers in Illinois must be prepared for the road and the challenges it brings. Learning about the many traffic rules and regulations, while being a good and cautious driver at the same time can sometimes be overwhelming for those who have never driven before.

To help new drivers adjust more easily, the state of Illinois issues learners permits to first-time drivers in order to gradually introduce them to the world of driving. Usually, young people and teenagers are curious to learn how to drive, but because of their age and other factors, they are unable to immediately obtain a regular drivers license and thus need parental consent to either apply for a learners permit or to drive in general.

How to Apply for a Learners Permit

To apply for a learners permit, you must first make sure you meet the eligibility requirements defined by the state. Listed below are the main eligibility points a new driver must comply with in order to be considered for a learners permit:

  • Must be at least 15 years of age and show proof of identity (ID card, passport, birth certificate)
  • Must have an affidavit of consent signed by a parent or a legal guardian
  • Must be enrolled in an education courses on driving theory and rules (for persons who are older than 17, education courses are not mandatory)
  • Must take (and pass) the vision and written tests
  • Must pay the necessary fees

To begin the application, go to your local Secretary of State facility and submit the necessary documents. After you are approved for a learners permit, you are now responsible for learning how to drive on the road. For this, you must also meet another set of requirements:

  • To carry the learners permit with you at all times when driving
  • To always be escorted and supervised by an adult or a parent who is at least 21 years old, has a valid IL drivers license and has driving experience of at least one year
  • To complete at least 50 hours of driving plus 10 hours of night driving
  • To respect all traffic rules, regulations, signs and state laws and not to acquire any driving convictions during the education and permit phase
  • No phone calls, texting or other phone-related activities are allowed while driving
  • The number of passengers in the vehicle must be equal to the number of seat belts

Note: Failure to comply with the rules can result in learners permit suspension and other appropriate sanctions.

If you pass the probationary period successfully and demonstrate that you have learned the basics of driving, you will be issued an initial licensing which means that you passed the first permit phase, but still have to practice your driving skills until you are ready for a regular drivers license.

Commercial Learner’s Permit

Driving commercial vehicles used to transport people, goods or hazardous materials requires a special set of driving skills. In order to train new commercial drivers how to handle these types of vehicles, there are commercial driving training schools supported by the Secretary of State office which then issue learners permits and commercial drivers licenses.